Interfaith Ministries, scholarship winners highlight Home Builders luncheon

NTHBA July 15 Speaker

NTHBA Vice President Eddie Holcomb is shown with July speaker Carol Chatterton, volunteer coordinator of Interfaith Ministries.


Carol Chatterton, volunteer coordinator at Interfaith Ministries, discussed the ongoing work of the non-profit organization and the 2015 scholarship winners were presented their checks at the July membership luncheon of the North Texas Home Builders Association held Thursday, July 9, at the Kemp at the Forum.

Chatterton explained that Interfaith Ministries began following the 1979 tornado. “Twenty-five churches came together to serve the needs of those affected by the tornado.” She added that today 70 area churches and other organizations support the work of Interfaith Ministries. The organization has four paid staffers and 120 volunteers.

Interfaith Ministries’ food pantry helped 1137 people last year, distributing 13,023 pounds of food. The organization also helped people with their utilities bills, giving out $36,520 for utility payments.

In addition to Chatterton, board chairwoman Jean Graham also attended the luncheon.

NTHBA Scholarship Winners 2015

Scholarship Chairman Barney Brock stands with scholarship winners Abigail Lam, Bailey Broyles, and Brennen Nelson following the July membership luncheon of the North Texas Home Builders Association

Following her talk, Barney Brock, scholarship chairman for the North Texas Home Builders Association, introduced the five scholarship winners. Each received a $1,000 check to help with their education expenses for the upcoming year. The five winners are Abigail Lam, Bailey Broyles, Brennen Nelson, Kolten Booher, and Trevor Criddle.

Abigail Lam graduated Wichita Falls High School in 2014. She is a two-time recipient. She attends the University of Texas at Austin, majoring in finance.

Bailey Broyles graduated from Holliday High School this year. A first-time recipient, he plans to attend the University of Texas at Austin and will major in architectural engineering.

Brennen Nelson graduated this year from Henrietta High School. Another first-time recipient, he will be going to Murray State University this fall. He plans on majoring in mechanical engineering.

Kolten Booher graduated from Henrietta High School in 2014. A two-time recipient, he attends Texas A&M University in College Station, majoring in architectural/construction science.

Trevor Criddle graduated Rider High School in 2011. A first-time recipient, he is going to Midwestern State University, where he majors in mechanical engineering.